This is MANY
INVESTORS discuss with Jeff Kinn about his
FRAUD SPAM companies
Cleverat.com Mrscahsback.com Bulgariaforever.comAfter too many people make him look look stupid, Jeff Kinn told forum to deleted all this messages HAHA
 |
Author: HopelessHarry | |
| Subject: FSA-registered Email Spam | Date: 27/2/08 13:27 |
Recommendations: 1
Slightly off topic Getting really fed up with a massive increase in spam email in the last few weeks. Especially given that some of the companies involved have been FSA registered. The latest is from Hero Insurance Services, a subsidiary of Highway Insurance Holdings PLC. Interestingly this had the following at the bottom: "This is being sent to you as you opted-in to receiving email advertising through our partners. (CoNo: 06187068, Address: 3 The Drive, Great Warley, Brentwood, CM13 3FR)." This is a company called Cleverat.com Ltd. http://www. cleverat.com/About.asp [Funnily enough, one of Cleverat's directors, Jeffrey Kinn, was on the board of S&M Cafes Group plc with Renwick Haddow]. Most of the spam though is coming from "Full Force Marketing" 4686 SW 12th Place - Deerfield Beach, FL 33442 US. The email deletion link is to www.mynewfender.com and the whois brings up: Administrative Contact [1270137]: Tom Schollmeyer tom.schollmeyer@gmail.com Full Force Marketing 4686 SW 12th Place Deerfield Beach FL 33442 US Phone: +1.9193417178 Fax: +1.0000000000 Any help with answering these questions gratefully received: 1. Does the FSA regulate against this spam email marketing ? 2. How can I stop this email bombardment by Full Force Marketing and Cleverat? |
Recommendations: 2
Recommendations: 0
Recommendations: 1
Recommendations: 1
Recommendations: 0
HopelessHarry: Back to Cleverat.com. They are definitely worth googling. Why? I couldn't find much for "Online Travel Retailer of the Year 2005" nor "Paul Moore Entrepreneur of the Year" The General Manager appears to to have an eponymous .com website, and may be on flickr... The Brentwood address is Regus serviced office. Perhaps a DPA request (with audit trail), or change your email address. http://www.pressreleasepoint.com/ cleverat-executive-team-con... |
Recommendations: 0
Googling "Cruise Control" "Paul Moore" gives more information about Paul Moore, the man behind Cleverat.com, and the collapse of his previous company. Still don't understand what Cleverat.com does or how it operates. Not saying its doing anything wrong (apart from annoying spam emails). But if its involved in selling financial services, doesn't it need FSA approval? |
Recommendations: 1
Not saying its doing anything wrong (apart from annoying spam emails) That is a bit like saying that Harold Shipman did not do anything wrong apart from murdering people. |
Recommendations: 0
I have just found this thread concerning my company and I and I am somewhat disturbed by it. Firstly Cleverat is a totally legitimate online and offline marketing company that produces significant revenue streams for its clients. Some of those are in the financial services sector and many are not but they and we are all completely legitimate businesses and most are blue chip names. We are a marketing company and do not sell financial services or any other products. Secondly,I understand that you may not like email marketing but we only send to people who have opted-in to receive email offers and each and every email has a genuine unsubscribe link on it. To compare what we do to the activities of a notorious serial murder is perhaps a little over the top?. Thirdly, the fact that I sat on a board with Renwick Haddow some years ago implies what exactly? I was a non-executive director of a start-up restaurant business and he was the representative of an institutional investor. Fourthly, since when does having your corporate offices in a Regus building imply something unsavoury? We employ nearly 3 dozen people, we are expanding fast and I appreciate the flexibility that a serviced office environment affords me. If anyone wants to contact me directly they are welcome to do so at jeff@ cleverat.com. Regards, Jeffrey Kinn |
Recommendations: 1
To compare what we do to the activities of a notorious serial murder is perhaps a little over the top?. I was not comparing what you do with serial murder. The point I was making is that if you are sending spam, then you are doing something wrong (ie: annoying people by wasting their time) and it does not matter if everything else you do is OK,it is still wrong. The fact that this thread 'disturbed' you ought to make you think about how the recipients of your spam feel, but I expect it won't. |
Recommendations: 1
"we only send to people who have opted-in to receive email offers" I have never opted in to receive spam emails, including from Cleverat, but am still getting them at the rate of 1 every 5 minutes. Its gotten much worse recently - as an industry insider do you have any idea why this is? [Also you must be aware that most people don't hit links in spam emails for fear of viruses]. |
Recommendations: 0
I am not going to have an open debate on this forum to defend a totally above board business. Nor am I going to defend an entire industry. However, I will be happy to correspond privately with people if there are specific questions relating to Cleverat.com Ltd |
Recommendations: 5
Jeffrey Cleverat is totally legitimate Glad to hear it. Unfortunately most of the spam in my inbox is not. Sorry, but that makes me very suspicious of any e-mails that I can’t remember signing up for. we only send to people who have opted in Again glad to hear it. The general advice for unsubscribe links is not to click on them, as it confirms to the spammer that the e-mail address is valid. You ought to review your business to find out people like hopelessharry are being bombarded by so many e-mails that they claim are unsolicited. I sat on a board with Renwick Haddow some years ago implies what exactly? Haddow’s name has graced these boards many times over the years. Many Fools would not invest in any company where Haddow appears on the board. I hope that this explains why Fools are concerned when they learn of any connection with him. since when does having your corporate offices in a Regus building imply something unsavoury? The vast majority of customers of Regus and similar office suppliers are genuine businesses, as yours appears to be. However, scammers tend not to invest in leasehold office property, they rent offices for a short period of time and then disappear and resurface under a different name at a difference serviced office. This is why Fools are interested in the physical location of the subject under discussion. You seem to be at the more honest end of an industry that I find at best annoying and at worst detestable, but I appreciate your bravery on coming on a forum like this. ML |
Recommendations: 0
However, I will be happy to correspond privately with people if there are specific questions relating to Cleverat.com Ltd Well that is one way of hervesting e-mail addresses. |
Recommendations: 0
Well that is one way of hervesting e-mail addresses. After I put up my previous post, Jeff (from Cleverat.com) also took the time to send me an e-mail ... at 11pm. At the risk of heaping criticism onto myself, I got the impression that he is an honest businessman who happens to operate in an industry with a lot of cowboys. He responded to the points in my post and gave me the name and telephone number of the office manager, if I wanted to discuss further. Don't get me wrong, I would love to expose the scammers who constantly fill my inbox with e-mails pushing fake pharmaceutical products, but to be fair to Cleverat.com, I think that is at a different end of the market. I guess if you keep getting Cleverat.com e-mails, try un-subscribing. If that doesn't work then e-mail the guy and tell him! |
Recommendations: 1
It seems Cleverat.com and its associated companies have annoyed quite a few people by spamming and other business tactics. I found this website with a lot of info on Cleverat http:// cleverat.wordpress.com/ There is an article on that page which links to several other forums where people are complaining about spam. I myself registered on Mrscashback.com (obviously part of Cleverat.com) quite a while ago and I quickly de-registered from that site after been pounded with spam. Unfortunately, not being a member of Mrs Cashback did not stop relentless bombardment of spam, usually promoting competition and travel websites that looked like some school-kid had knocked up during his lumch break I have no sympathy at all for professional spammers who bring disgrace on the Internet industry. What is more remarkable is that a team of people such as the directors of Cleverat.com are able to gain a Consumer Credit License, as they claim on some their websitesm in the first place! |